Day 0 of my journey – Bangkok

Honestly I didn’t expect the travel day (and a half) of my trip to be this eventful, what I did expect was to be worried, stressed, nervous, excited and petrified all at the same time and unfortunately this was the case and it was overwhelming.

The day started as any other day would, I woke up, had some toast and then packed my bag for a one way trip to other side of the world, you know like everyone else’s standard Saturday but this was to be no ordinary Saturday, it would become one I would remember for a long time.

Firstly, I thought it was only right to go see my mum on my last day in the UK for a while and say my goodbyes, this was totes emosh but I’m glad I did it because I think she appreciated it, and it was nice to see her before I go, because you know… I’ll miss her while I’m away (cutting onions/Dusty room). I then went about doing some chores which I had been putting off; like throwing away crap in my bedroom I knew I was neither taking or storing and to ditch all of the food that was opened, gone bad or I knew my housemate wouldn’t be interested in eating.

What dya mean you can’t drive the bus!?

 

IMG_1410

My bus was at 19:30 so I knew I had some time to kill between my chores so I arranged to say a final farewell to my friends in our home away from home Live Lounge (Cardiff, Not the BBC Radio 1 Live music thing) which consisted of a few 241 cocktails, a swift trip to pound land for snacks and a short walk to the bus stop for them to wave Natasha and I off… that was the plan, but unfortunately this wave off had to be reconstructed without a bus because it turns out we didn’t leave at 7:30 or 8:00 or even 8:30… the bus didn’t leave Cardiff until 9:30, which we thought was the perfect opportunity to run and get a burrito for our journey. My friends stayed as long as they could but I refused to let them sit in the cold (all be it; one was in a hotdog costume – don’t ask). The reason for this delay was revealed that the driver didn’t have his CPC card (Certificate of professional confidence) so was unable to drive the coach to London, which In turn led to missing our connection coach to Gatwick… so we called National express and got it re booked to the one an hour later, which we was the last one available for the night and we were assured we would make. We didn’t

Cue a frantic panic, lots of F’s and “The driver is a C” but level heads prevailed and we decided to late night tube it which is another long story so let me summarise:

  • Victoria Tube entrances were all closed.
  • Victoria Station had no trains (No idea why)
  • We found a free bus transfer to London bridge station
  • The bus was late for the 2:07 to Gatwick
  • Waited on a stationary train until 3:07 headed to Gatwick
  • Panic over.

All in all, it took us 9 hours, YES NINE HOURS to get to an airport 3 HOURS AWAY. We are very, very lucky we had made a plan to be in the airport embarrassingly early… like 6 hours early – Not even dads with socks and sandals want to be there that early – if we hadn’t, we would have surely missed our flight and would never have made it on the plane.

 

IMG_1430

I’m writing this to you guys from 35000ft in the air, 2 hours in to our flight from Stockholm to Bangkok, partly because I’m finally coherent enough to type and partly because this airline has a movie selection I have seen the majority of. Although, I just had some beautiful chicken, rice and veg with an apple pie dessert – I would highly recommend the Norwegian air Nice ‘n’ Tasty menu.

Cheap flight, sexy plane and tasty food.

View isn’t bad either.IMG_1488

 

I’m out.

 

One thought on “Day 0 of my journey – Bangkok

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑